Focusing on a small image from a short distance

In summary: I remember that I needed to return it to the bookstore because I couldn't bring myself to read it cover to cover, and I'm pretty sure that I never actually used any of the information in it. I lost the book a few years ago, but I think it had something to do with the section on diopters. A diopter is a adjustable lens that allows you to change the focal length of the lens without changing the lens itself. This is handy if you have a lens that doesn't have a wide enough focal range, or if you want to get closer to the subject without having to move the camera. If you have a camera with a zoom lens, you can set the zoom to the longest focal
musiq021
I apologize if the breadth of this question requires a response beyond what anyone is willing to contribute. I've started researching optics ( of which I have little knowledge ) and feel immediately overwhelmed.

Problem
Using a DSLR ( with a DX size sensor ) and preferably the available lens (18-55mm or 18-110mm), what additional optics would allow me to fill the frame and focus on a 35mm wide image at a distance of about 5 1/2"?

I imagine maybe a longer lens would help. I've been experimenting with macro tubes and close-up filters without much luck. The close-up filters introduce too many artifacts in the image. I've also considered that a tele convertor may help, but have yet to get my hands on one.

Any advice would be super, and I'm sure I left out some details for this equation, let me know what other info is needed.

Physics news on Phys.org
musiq021 said:
..I'm sure I left out some details for this equation...