(Fluids) Difference in stress or pressure between setups?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of pressure myography in experiments with blood vessels. The technique involves attaching a section of a blood vessel to a glass chamber and increasing the pressure inside. The conversation also mentions a modified setup with a continuous flow of fluid and a pump. The speaker has questions about the pressure, pressure difference, and stress on the blood vessel in this modified setup. The conversation also includes calculations of hydrostatic pressure and hoop tensile stress in different situations.
MrSmit
Hello,

I'm a PhD student in medical biology and am doing experiments with bloodvessels. I've modified an existing technique and getting unexpected results (ofcourse..). I think it is due to a pressure difference but my knowledge of physics is inadequate to be sure. Ill give a short explanation of the techniques and then at the end put a hopefully not too difficult question.

The technique I'm using is pressure myography; we cut a small section of a bloodvessel from tissue and attach each end to a glass cannula in a vessel chamber (see image one). The chamber contains fluid (salt solution) and is closed during the experiment. The chamber is not airtight, there are two open ends at the sides but the water from the chamber does not leak from them. Then, the pressure inside the vessel is raised to ~80 mmHg by closing one of the cannulas and attaching a water column to the the other (which is open at the end).

This is the standard situation (situation 1).

In my modified setup, the fluid inside the chamber is continuously refreshed. Approximately 35cm above the chamber is a fluid reservoir (due to technical reasons). The fluid is then pumped into the chamber by a rolling pump at 15ml/min. The 'excess' volume goes back into the reservoir through a tubing. This is situation two.