Need Help in Calculating MW of Unknown

• Thread starter Relentless
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses calculating the molecular weight and percentage of iron in an unknown iron compound. The weight of the unknown is 0.2g, and the number of moles of Fe(II) is 0.0005. The calculation for the mass of Fe(II) is 0.027925g, and the calculation for the percentage of Fe in the unknown is (0.027925g/0.2g) x 100. The conversation also mentions using the molecular weight of iron to solve for other parts of the question and provides guidance on how to do so.
Relentless
This is my first time posting here, I hope I get some help:-)
Well here is my Information i have:

Weight of Unknown= 0.2g
# of mols of Fe(II)= 0.0005 mol

Question: Assuming that the number of atoms in Fe in the unknown compound is one and the MW(Fe)= 55.85 g/mol calculate the molecular weight og the unknown iron compound.

I've tried many things but so far I'm stuck
Any help would be great!
R

*edit*
I also have to calculate the Mass of Fe(II) I was wondering if this is the correct method I'm using:
0.0005 mol of Fe(II) x 55.85 g/mol (Fe)= 0.027925 g?

Also need to find the % Fe in the Unknown, now would the calculation be:
(0.027925 g /0.2 g) x 100?

Thanx again

Last edited:
Chemistry news on Phys.org
Well everything you have said looks good. Now you just have to think if you have a total % of the Fe in the mass. Then you know what percentage of the MW is due to the Fe. Thus you can then accommodate to figure out the other element(s) percentage of the MW and figure it out.

hope this helps

pete

Okay, since they tell you how many moles of iron are in 0.2 g of the compound, and they tell you that each molecule of that compound has only one iron atom in it, you also know how many moles of the molecule you have (0.0005). The molecular weight of iron is irrelevant to the first part of the question (you needed it for the later parts of the questions).