First Year Physics: Is My Study Plan Effective?

In summary: However, if you struggle with harder problems, don't worry. You can always come back to them later. MIT's open courseware videos are a good place to start. Walter Lewin is a great teacher. Additionally, there are many forums where you can ask questions.
Jacobalg
This is my first year taking a physics course and i am taking calculus based physics. My study plan so far has been writing detailed notes from the book and each section would take me a good hour. I have not done the practice problems just yet as i have two more sections to finish. Is this wasting time ? if so what method should i use?

Physics news on Phys.org
1. Make notes for a section.
2. do the problems for that section.
3. Move to next section.
4. Watch MIT's open courseware videos. They are good. Walter Lewin is a champ.
5. Ask questions on the forums for additional help.

Don't forget to ask your professor for help too. And ask around about study groups.IMO, for efficiency, I would focus on topics which are your weakest. If you know how to do vector addition, don't worry about notes and problems for that section. Focus on what you have trouble with.

me to

i am doing my undergraduate in physics in a reputed university in India
i don't no what my possibilities are ?
help me to get a internship so that i have more of a professional knowledge

Jacobalg said:
This is my first year taking a physics course and i am taking calculus based physics. My study plan so far has been writing detailed notes from the book and each section would take me a good hour. I have not done the practice problems just yet as i have two more sections to finish. Is this wasting time ? if so what method should i use?

I don't really take notes from the textbook. I usually read the chapter before the lecture and take notes of whatever the professor says that wasn't in the textbook. That makes my work much more efficient.