First year physics difficulty level

In summary, a lot of the material in regular physics is based around technology and it can be difficult. However, there are resources available to help you out, and most students find it challenging at first.
Cpt Qwark
I'm starting a physics major this year and I'm currently enrolled in foundation physics (algebra, vector based). However, during second semester I'll be doing doing a regular physics unit which is based around technology. The main topics are Electromagnetism (LOTS and LOTS of circuits work, quite similar fashion to EE), fluid mechanics and Quantum ( Schrödinger equation, uncertainty, spin etc) and their applications on technology. I was wondering how hard these courses are especially the circuitry work since I've little experience with circuits during high school.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I'll be taking calculus & linear (1st semester), and modelling & statistics (2nd semester) .

On a scale of one to ten it's a fish.

More seriously, it's difficult to answer a question like this because it's very subjective. A lot depends on how well your high school education has prepared you for the material, how much learning you've done on your own, and how well you learn from the professor's teaching style or the textbook. Plus you have to factor in time that you have to devote to the material, your personal study techniques, other factors that may interrupt your focus, etc.

It sounds like you have an idea of what the syllabus will be like. If you can, purchase the textbook ahead of time. Work your way through a few of the problems. That's the best way to know how difficult the course will be. If it helps, most students tend to find first year physics challenging, but the subset of those who chose to major in physics generally enjoy it.