Fine structure constant increase with energy?

In summary, the conversation discusses the confusion around the statement that the value of the fine structure constant increases with collision energy in Electron/Positron annihilation. While initially thinking that this constant should not change, further research reveals that in QED, the coupling constants can depend on energy scale and the fine structure constant does in fact change at higher energies. The conversation concludes with the understanding that this was not clearly explained in the textbook but can be further explored with additional research.
Walternate
Hi!
Hope someone can help, I am currently studying an Open University course and I am a little confused by a statement in one of the textbooks.
It says that the value of the fine structure constant increases with collision energy (in Electron/Positron annihilation).
I am probably being stupid, but I thought it was a constant so by it's nature it would not change? Sadly the book does not elaborate further so I hope someone can help me understand this as I've searched everywhere and can't really find anything to explain this statement :) Thank you for your patience.

Physics news on Phys.org
Walternate said:
Hi!
Hope someone can help, I am currently studying an Open University course and I am a little confused by a statement in one of the textbooks.
It says that the value of the fine structure constant increases with collision energy (in Electron/Positron annihilation).
I am probably being stupid, but I thought it was a constant so by it's nature it would not change? Sadly the book does not elaborate further so I hope someone can help me understand this as I've searched everywhere and can't really find anything to explain this statement :) Thank you for your patience.

Walternate,