Gravity and time, am I understanding this?

In summary, the concept of relativity states that time appears to increase when in a stronger gravitational field. This is evident in events such as black holes and the Big Bang. In the case of a twin going to a neutron star, they would perceive time to move faster due to the stronger gravitational field, making them younger than their twin who stayed on Earth. However, from an outside perspective, time would appear to slow down for the twin in the gravitational field. This shows that differences in gravitational fields can affect the perception of time.
Quanta-Man
[SOLVED] Gravity and time, am I understanding this?

I am pretty new to physics in general. From what I've gotten so far, relativity states that time increases (or the increments of time become more closely spaced) when gravitational field is stronger. This is illustrated in black holes and the Big Bang. In the earlier moments of the Big Bang, the gravitational field of the early universe would be much greater than it is now, therefore, time would go by at a much quicker rate in the early stages of expansion. Now, correct me if I am wrong, but say my twin goes to a neutron star (or something with a much greater gravitaional field than the earth) and stays for what he perceives to be 10 years. He then returns to Earth and meets up with me (who has stayed on Earth the entire time). In this case, wouldn't my twin be younger than I? So isn't this stating that the greater gravitational field on the neutron star caused time (to the twin) to slow down and thus the twin stays younger for a longer amount of time in relation to me, on earth? Is this a contradiction of stronger gravitational fields speeding time up? Shouldn't the twin age faster than I in this case?

Physics news on Phys.org