Finding the velocity of a wave

In summary, the professor has seemingly fudged the steps from equation \ref{eq:surf_x-y} to equations \ref{eq:vel_u} and \ref{eq:vel_w} in order to make the mathematics work. I am struggling to come up with a physical justification for this, other than to say that it is somehow related to the phase speed of the wave.
H Smith 94
Gold Member
I am currently studying a course on waves, which has a real ambiguity in the lecture notes. Essentially, I don't know how the professor got from equation \ref{eq:surf_x-y} to equations \ref{eq:vel_u} and \ref{eq:vel_w}. I have tried to work backwards to find a method but am not sure of its validity.

Please note that this is not a homework excercise, so full answers are appreciated.

Given formulas
The step is from the surface height of a 1-dimensional wave, given by \begin{equation}\label{eq:surf_x-y}\eta(x,t) = A \cos(kx - \omega t)\end{equation} to a velocity field $$\mathbf{v}(x,z,t) = (u(x,z,t),w(x,z,t)),$$ where \begin{equation}\label{eq:vel_u}u(x,z,t) = A \omega \frac{\cosh(k(H+z))}{\sinh(k H)}\, \cos(kx - \omega t)\end{equation} and \begin{equation}\label{eq:vel_w}w(x,z,t) = A \omega \frac{\sinh(k(H+z))}{\sinh(k H)}\, \sin(kx - \omega t).\end{equation}

My workings
Given this as true, one finds a position function \begin{equation}\label{eq:pos_r}\phi(x,z,t) = \frac{A \omega}{k} \frac{\cosh(k(H+z))}{\sinh(k H)}\, \sin(kx - \omega t)\end{equation} from the integration $$\phi(x,z,t) = \int \mathbf{v}(x,z,t) \cdot\mathrm{d}\mathbf{r},$$ from which follows the assumption that we have multiplied equation \ref{eq:surf_x-y} by a ##z##-dependent factor $$f(z) = \frac{\omega}{k}\,\frac{\cosh(k(H+z))}{\sinh(k H)}.$$

'Fudged method'
Now, the only way I can see of getting from \ref{eq:pos_phi} to ##\phi(x,z,t)=\eta(x,t)\,f(z)## is using the following method, which finds that: