Finding Part Time Work for Undergrad Physics Students

In summary, as an undergraduate studying physics, there are various part-time job opportunities that can be relevant and useful to a career as a physicist. These include working in a lab, teaching or tutoring, writing for a science publication, working at a science center or camp, interning at an engineering firm, and more. It's important to think outside the box and gain relevant experience, as it can greatly benefit your future career prospects.
phrygian
I am currently an undergraduate studying physics, and am looking to get a part time job to make money. Are there any jobs that would be relevant and useful to a carreer as a physicist that someone with no college degree could get?

Physics news on Phys.org
well things that include programming, if you know some, is always good. And maybe helping out at tutorials at summer schools for high school (kids left behind in math and science)?

See if you can get a part time gig in a lab on campus. Oftentimes this is just for credit instead of pay, but there are professors who will offer pay. Some schools let undergraduates be TAs as well. At my school, most of the physics, math, and CS TAs are undergraduates (I go to an engineering school, though, so there is a very high demand for TAs in these subjects).

Seconding what Monocles said, but also adding that some schools will pay students to be notetakers in classes.

Advice

Firstly,you must concentrate on your studies.If you really want to do job,you must search on the web.All the best...:cool:

phrygian said:
I am currently an undergraduate studying physics, and am looking to get a part time job to make money. Are there any jobs that would be relevant and useful to a carreer as a physicist that someone with no college degree could get?

As some who did coop in undergrad I can tell you your options: find a prof who will take you on as a summer student, code monkey work, medical physics.