Where can I find small MIPS programmes for learning and practice?

• Thread starter Adam
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mips
In summary, a Small MIPS programme is a low-level computer program written in the MIPS assembly language. It differs from other programming languages in its closer connection to machine code and hardware, requiring detailed knowledge of computer architecture. Writing a Small MIPS programme allows for greater control and efficiency in programming, making it useful for embedded systems and low-level tasks. Common applications include embedded systems, computer architecture research and education, and writing operating systems or device drivers. Learning how to write Small MIPS programmes can be challenging without prior knowledge, but with practice, it can be a valuable skill for those interested in computer engineering and embedded systems development.
Adam
Hello all.

I'm studying a bit of MIPS asm here and there in my course. I don't have any work requiring it at the moment, but I am interested in learning more nifty stuff in this language. Does anyone have any small MIPS programmes (to run on PCSPIM perhaps) for me to look at?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Nice page, thanks very much.

1. What is a Small MIPS programme?

A Small MIPS programme refers to a computer programme written in the MIPS assembly language, which is a low-level programming language used in computer architecture and embedded systems.

2. How is a Small MIPS programme different from other programming languages?

A Small MIPS programme is different from other programming languages because it is a low-level language, meaning that it is closer to the machine code and hardware of a computer. It also requires detailed knowledge of computer architecture and memory management.

3. What are the benefits of writing a Small MIPS programme?