Advice for first time tutoring?

In summary, when tutoring a high school level chemistry class for the first time, it is important to have patience and try to find out what the student already knows. It is helpful to work through homework problems together and analyze each step, asking the student to explain their reasoning. It is also important to teach the process rather than just giving the solution. Each student may have their own unique points of confusion, so it is important to ask questions and identify the specific concepts causing trouble. It may also be helpful to have a clear understanding of the objectives and skills the student needs to work on.
einsteinian77
I'm about to tutor someone in a high school level chemistry class and this is my first time tutoring, any tips? keep in mind I am only 17 and I am a student myself.

Science news on Phys.org
Patience.

Try to find out what he knows first. I arranged to tutor someone in physics, and had to teach ther how to multiply fractions first.

Homework problems are usually assigned for good reason. Work through them thoroughly. Analyze each step. Even if he does the right thing, ask why. If he thinks he knows a problem, set it aside for a while, then ask him to do it again when he has had time to forget it. This will let you know if he really understands it, or has just memorized the steps to solving it. He will soon recognise more accurately whether he knows something or not.

Njorl

work through problems together...don't lecture

teach the process, not the solution (chemisty pun)

I tutored my way through the first half of my college career; mostly in chemistry and physics. I think in addition to the good suggestions offered already, I would add that each person has their own unique points of confusion. I always tried to ask questions until I could identify the particular concept causing trouble.

I arranged to tutor someone in physics, and had to teach them how to multiply fractions first