The Starship Enterprise (variable acceleration problem) part II

In summary, the person is asking for help in understanding their mistake in a math problem they have been doing for the past two years. They provide the equations they have been using and someone points out an error in the last line of their calculations. After the correction, the person understands their mistake and hopes not to make it again.
frankR
Okay what am I doing wrong? This is the way I've been doing math for the last two years. This is annoying me. Unless I've been doing everything wrong the last two years, I feel this is correct. I realize it's most likely wrong. Someone please explain to me what I am doing wrong and more important why.

F = -be^(-a*v) = m dv/dt, a and b are constants.

m [inte]vov e^(a*v) dv = -b [inte]to=0t dt

m/a e^(a(v - vo)) = -b*t

ln[e^(a(v - vo))] = ln[-abt/m]

a(v - vo) = ln[-abt/m]

v(t) = 1/a ln[-abt/m] + vo

dx/dt = v(t) = 1/a ln[-abt/m] + vo

[inte]xo=ox dx = [inte]to=ot1/a ln[-abt/m] + vodt

x(t) = t/a[ln(-a*b*t/m) + a*vo -1]

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Originally posted by frankR
m [inte]vov e^(a*v) dv = -b [inte]to=0t dt

m/a e^(a(v - vo)) = -b*t

Your mistake is in the last line here. When you do the integral, you have to evaluate exp(av) at v and at v0 and subtract, to get:

exp(av)-exp(av0).

This does not equal:

exp(a(v-v0)),

which is what you have. Incidentally, this is the same basic mistake that I pointed out in "Part I" of this problem, except there you did it with the inverse function (natural log), when you used the invalid rule:

ln(a+b)=ln(a)+ln(b).

m/a e^(a*v)|vov = -b*t

m/a(e^(a*v) - e^(a*vo) = -b*t

Okay now that makes sense.

Thanks.

Edit: Hopefully I won't make that mistake again.

Last edited:

1. What is the variable acceleration problem in relation to the Starship Enterprise?