Final Year Computer Science Project

In summary, a mature student studying computer science in their late twenties is looking for a physics project that can be an extension of their computer science studies. They are interested in exploring the application of computer science in astrophysics and are open to using any programming language. Some potential project ideas discussed include analyzing nonlinear systems using discrete difference equations and event recognition or intensity analysis in astrophysics.
jermaindefoe
Hi, I am a mature student coming back to uni in my late twenties. I currently study computer science and am about to go into my final year.

I really know very little physics other than reading why does e= mc2 by Brian cox :-p

I was hoping someone here could possibly suggest to me a Physics project i could use as an extension of computer science. There are many projects on the list but they don't have any interesting applications.

I was hoping there might be something i could do around astrophysics, that would be challenging enough from a software development point of view that wouldn't need me to have a physics degree either. Possibly a topic area i could read up on and apply my computer science knowledge?

Thanks for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org
What language are you writing in?

WannabeNewton said:
What language are you writing in?

C# or Java. Though it can be anything really.

analysis of nonlinear systems, (i.e. ones that cannot be solved analytically) seems like a good candidate for a computer science project.
for example, using discrete difference equations to try to categorise the behaviour of physical systems. (i.e. using 'dt = small number' and iterating the equation).
For astrophysics, I don't know much in that area, but maybe it could be something like event recognition (i.e. when a new supernovae explodes) or maybe analysing the intensity or spectrum of stars?