Fields related to Quantum Information

In summary, the speaker is a master student in theoretical physics from Italy who is interested in fields related to "Quantum Information". They have attended some seminars and are looking for advice on how to understand these fields before applying for a PhD. The suggestion is to read literature, specifically Chung and Nielsen's and Kitaev's books, and to use Google to begin their research.
SolitaryMan
I am a master student in theoretical physics from Italy and I would like to know more about fields related to "Quantum Information".
I've been to some seminars and I think that these fields are very interesting, but I need to understand before applying for a PhD. What should I do?

Physics news on Phys.org
Dr Transport said:
Read some of the literature and figure it out.
Any advice on where to begin?

SolitaryMan said:
Any advice on where to begin?
Chung and Nielsen's and Kitaev's books are good for starters.

Likes SolitaryMan
MathematicalPhysicist said:
Chung and Nielsen's and Kitaev's books are good for starters.
Thank you so much.

Likes MathematicalPhysicist

Related to Fields related to Quantum Information

1. What is quantum information?

Quantum information is a branch of physics that studies the processing, transmission, and storage of information using quantum systems. It combines principles from quantum mechanics, computer science, and information theory to understand and utilize the unique properties of quantum systems for information processing.

2. What are the applications of quantum information?

Quantum information has a wide range of potential applications, including quantum cryptography for secure communication, quantum computing for solving complex problems, quantum sensing for highly precise measurements, and quantum simulation for studying complex systems.

3. What is quantum entanglement?