F1inSchool Challenge: Design a CO2-Powered F1 Car

• Thread starter ray_crimsonhe
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Challenge
In summary, a student is seeking advice on designing a F1 car for the F1inschool challenge. They are unsure whether to increase downforce or decrease weight, and are seeking help as they are new to F1 car design principles. It may be beneficial to research past designs and consider the specific rules of the competition before making a decision.
ray_crimsonhe
Hello this is my first time here. I would like to ask some question regarding the competition that my schoool is going to enter. It is called the F1inschool challenge. We are asked to design a F1 car powered by a CO2 cannister. I am having a dilemma here on wheter to increase down force or decreasing the weight. As far as I know, the track would be a straight line. I am new in all the concepts and principles regarding F1 car. Please help

Physics news on Phys.org
If your car is not turning, then why increase downforce?

edit: If anything, if you increased lift rather, then you could decrease rolling and sliding friction.

Welcome to the forum! The F1inschool challenge sounds like an exciting competition. As for your dilemma, it really depends on the specific rules and requirements of the competition. If the track is a straight line, then increasing downforce may not be as important as reducing weight for speed. However, it's always a balance and you may want to consider both factors in your design. You can also do some research on F1 car design principles and see what other teams have done in similar competitions. Good luck!

Related to F1inSchool Challenge: Design a CO2-Powered F1 Car

1. What is the F1inSchool Challenge?

The F1inSchool Challenge is an international STEM competition where students design, build, and race miniature CO2-powered F1 cars. It aims to promote interest and understanding in engineering, technology, and sustainability.

2. How does the CO2-powered F1 car work?