Exporting NDSolve Data to Excel

In summary, you can export the data from Mathematica by exporting it as a text file and importing it into Excel. If you have more than one y variable to output, you can create lists for yvalues2, yvalues3, etc.
knwest
Hello,

I'm using mathematic (NDSolve) to solve a series of PDEs, which I have successfully done. Now I would like to export the data so that I can make a graph in Excel (I know I can plot the results in Mathematica (and I have) but I would like to be able to export it to Excel, as I am a novice in Mathematica. How can I export the data so that I have columns of data corresponding to my x variable and the series of y variables? Thanks in advance.

Computer science news on Phys.org
It is not real easy to do. The best thing that I can recommend is to paste it into a text file, remove the braces, and import it into excel as comma separated values.

But I would strongly recommend learning the Mathematica plotting features, it will be well worth your time.

Hi knwest,

Here is a quick way to do it for x and one y value that I think is understandable. Let's say that you have solved the DE with the statement (just to think of a random problem):

Code:
result=NDSolve[{y''[x]+5 x ==0,y[0]==3,y[2]==5,y,{x,0,2}]

so that x varies from 0 to 2. If you want to plot it in mathematica you can just use:

Code:
Plot[y[x]/.result,{x,0,2}]

If you want to write out a text file of 101 values that has two columns separated by several spaces, here is a straightforward way to do it:

Code:
xvalues=Table[x,{x,0,2,(2-0)/100.}]
yvalues=Table[ (y[x]/.result)[[1]],{x,0,2,(2-0)/100.}]

filename="outputfile.txt'
OpenWrite[filename]
Do[ 
     WriteString[filename,xvalues[[i]],"     ",yvalues[[i]],"\n"]
                 ,{i,1,Length[[xvalues]]}]
Close[filename]