Explosives in a Vacuum - The Science Behind It

• Thread starter drcathyc
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Vacuum
In summary, explosives can work in a vacuum as they contain their own oxidizing substances and do not require oxygen from the atmosphere. Some chemical reactions, such as the reaction between sugar and Potassium Chlorate, do not require outside oxygen to proceed. Explosives are highly explosive because the fuel and oxidant are intimately mixed together.
drcathyc
[SOLVED] explosives in a vacuum

Someone recently told me that explosives wouldn't work in a hard vacuum, that oxygen is required. Is this true? I know fire requires oxygen, but wouldn't there be some chemical reactions that don't require oxygen that can cause an explosive release of energy?

I'm a science fiction writer and want to make sure I get my science right (to the best of my ability!):smile:

Chemistry news on Phys.org
In most explosives, the fuel and oxidizer and closely mixed together…it does not require outside Oxygen to burn.

Although Oxygen gas is a common oxidizing substance which is used in the combustion of many fuels (such as in the example of a camp fire), it is not the only oxidizer.

Take, for example, the reaction between sugar (sucrose) and Potassium Chlorate,
C12H22O11 + KClO3 --> CO2 + H2O + KCl
In this case (when properly balanced), no Oxygen from the atmosphere is required for the reaction to proceed, all of the ‘oxygen’ the reaction needs is present in the oxidizer…in this case, solid Potassium Chlorate.
If this reaction is preformed under the proper conditions (i.e. reactants thoroughly mixed, confined space, small particle size, …) it can lead to an explosion.

drcathyc said:
Someone recently told me that explosives wouldn't work in a hard vacuum, that oxygen is required. Is this true? I know fire requires oxygen, but wouldn't there be some chemical reactions that don't require oxygen that can cause an explosive release of energy?