Exploring the Physics of a Metal Planet

In summary, the conversation is about the hypothetical creation of a metal planet made mostly of a bio-organic metal earth/dirt and its characteristics. The planet is about the size of Mars with two small moons, and has a distance of 73.6 million miles from its sun, an orbital period of 144.3 Earth days, and an average orbital speed of 7.84046 mph. The conversation also includes discussion about the planet's atmosphere and how its size affects its ability to sustain one.
TheBlacksmith
Alright, I'm not really a physics major or a scientist, but I do have a basic understanding of physics. In fact, I'm actually a writer and right now I'm trying to research the physics of what this thread is titled as, a metal planet. Problem is since I'm not a physics major or scientist, I sort of have to rely on psuedo-science and so I found this site through google in hopes that some of you could help give me a better understanding of what I'm trying to build.

Now, let me go into details about this metal planet...

- It's an iron-based planet, made mostly of a bio-organic metal earth/dirt.
- It's about the size of Mars, maybe a bit smaller.
- There isn't a lot of water besides the steam that rises out of huge valleys in-between continents. (Think of an ocean valley in-between north America and Europe.)

- There are also some measurements I put together by looking at graphs of other planets.

Distance from the Sun in its Solar System: 73.6 million miles [118 km/s]
Orbital period: 144.3 Earth Days [One Year]
Avg. orbital speed: 7.84046 mph
Mean radius: 3,385.2 ± 0.1 km [Half the size of earth]

- There's two small moons.

(As for the measurements, they may be a bit sketchy as my math is rusty, lol, so please correct me on any of that.)