Exploring the "n+1" Sequence: Seeking a Closed Form Solution

In summary, the conversation discusses a common sequence where the difference between two successive numbers increases by 1. The question is whether there is a closed form expression for this sequence. It is suggested that this can be solved by using a recurrence relation and a standard formula for the sum of consecutive numbers.
aaaa202
For a system I am studying the following sequence (which I would assume is quite common) came up:

n1=1, n2=2, n3=4, n4=7, n5=11, n6=16, n7=22 ... i.e. the difference betweens two successive numbers grows with 1 as we move from (n_N-1, n_N) to (n_N,n_N+1).
Is there a closed form expression f(k) for this sequence, i.e. f(1)=n1, f(2)=n2, f(3)=n3 etc.

edit: So basically I have a sequence with I think what is called a recurence relation equal to:

x_n+1 = x_n+n

Can I find a closed form for this?

Physics news on Phys.org
aaaa202 said:
For a system I am studying the following sequence (which I would assume is quite common) came up:

n1=1, n2=2, n3=4, n4=7, n5=11, n6=16, n7=22 ... i.e. the difference betweens two successive numbers grows with 1 as we move from (n_N-1, n_N) to (n_N,n_N+1).
Is there a closed form expression f(k) for this sequence, i.e. f(1)=n1, f(2)=n2, f(3)=n3 etc.

edit: So basically I have a sequence with I think what is called a recurence relation equal to:

x_n+1 = x_n+n

Can I find a closed form for this?

Hint:
[tex]
\sum_{k=1}^n k - \sum_{k=1}^{n-1} k = n
[/tex]

The sum can be expressed in closed form as a standard result.

Related to Exploring the "n+1" Sequence: Seeking a Closed Form Solution

1. What is the "n+1" sequence?

The "n+1" sequence is a mathematical sequence in which each term is equal to the previous term plus one. For example, the first few terms of the sequence are 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and so on.

2. Why is a closed form solution important in exploring the "n+1" sequence?