Exploring the Benefits of a Master's Degree in Applied Physics

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's plans for after completing their undergraduate degree. They are currently considering pursuing a Ph.D. in applied physics, but are also interested in a Master's degree and potential job opportunities in the private sector. They express a preference for experimental work and designing practical devices. The conversation concludes with the suggestion to look into programs focused on electro-optics or device physics and the potential opportunities for research and job prospects in the field of silicon lasing.
Poop-Loops
I'm only in my 2nd year of undergrad, but I'm already thinking about what I'll do after it. For a while now my plan has been to go get a Ph.D. in applied physics. But I keep thinking about how long that will take...

So what about a Master's in applied physics? Is there still useful things I can do with that degree?

Right now the thought of spending 7 extra years in school after undergrad scares me... I might change my mind (again) later, but I really want to know all of my options...

Physics news on Phys.org
Ok, so how about a Ph.D. in applied physics? I was thinking of going into the private sector and doing experimental work. That's pretty feasible, right? I don't want to get stuck behind a chalkboard doing theory all day long. I COULD also teach at a Univeristy if I had to, I'm a pretty good tutor and it's not so bad, but I'd rather just to straight research or something.

Stick with the experimental side of physics. Look at programs where the thrust is in electro-optics or device physics. You'll have the opportunity to design, fabricate and test your device and it should be a decent thesis topic.

I love designing things! Not artsy-fartsy stuff, but things that actually serve a purpose. Is there a good chance that I'll actually get to do that for a living, and not just push paper for someone else?