Exploring Quantum Mechanics: Could Another Big Bang Occur in My Hand?

In summary: Since we have huge discrepancies when we try to apply this to our own observable 'universe' we can not even state from observation that it applies in this context. Assuming that it does is in gross contradiction with observations: a fundamental problem, yet to be resolved by something more than hand-waving and mythological quantities of...math.
Kris Lemkens
Just watched the documentary 'Stephen Hawking Grand Design: Did God Create The Universe'. S.H. stated that the big bang was similar to subatomic particles that appear, disappear and reappear somewhere else following the laws of quantum mechanics.
If that were so, wouldn't it also be possible for another big bang to occur in the palm of my hand at any moment?

My background is not physics by the way, I'm an interested electrical engineer (from Belgium -> explains faulty English).

Space news on Phys.org
Kris Lemkens said:
Just watched the documentary 'Stephen Hawking Grand Design: Did God Create The Universe'. S.H. stated that the big bang was similar to subatomic particles that appear, disappear and reappear somewhere else following the laws of quantum mechanics.
If that were so, wouldn't it also be possible for another big bang to occur in the palm of my hand at any moment?

My background is not physics by the way, I'm an interested electrical engineer (from Belgium -> explains faulty English).
Yes.

The universe may be spawning new universes all the time, as long as their total energy is zero. Of course, we can't really test that idea, so there is no way to know if it's actually happening as far as I know. Once a universe is created, it's no longer our universe, causally disconnected.

Likes 1oldman2
newjerseyrunner said:
Yes.