Exploring NMR: Questions on Modeling and Experiments

In summary, the conversation discuss questions regarding NMR and the mathematics involved in modeling the phenomenon. The main topics include the use of Bloch equations and a general Hamiltonian, as well as the effects of inhomogeneity of the static field and offsets in excitation rotations. A recommended book is "Spin Dynamics. Basics of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance" by Malcolm H. Levitt, which covers topics such as chemical shift, electric quadrupole coupling, direct dipole-dipole coupling, J-coupling, and spin-rotation interaction. The use of Bloch equations in understanding the behavior of spins on and off resonance is also mentioned.
phygiks
Hello all,
I have questions regarding my understanding of NMR and the mathematics of it. If anyone would take the time to read this, I would very much appreciate it. Please bear with me, I am a beginner. Thank you!

First, there is the question on how to model this phenomenon. Up till now I have used the Bloch equations. Recently I have come across the NMR pictured with a general Hamiltonian with zeeman, quadrupole, internuclear, and electron-nucleus terms. I have unable to comprehend this, is there a good reference to help explain this? How can I use a Hamiltonian to model the precession?

I would also like to know if there are any references to NMR experiments dealing with problem of inhomogeneity of the static field, and offsets in excitation rotations (the spins are not rotated as expected since the field changes at different depths of the sample).

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Malcolm H. Levitt "Spin Dynamics. Basics of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance" has this chapter: