Exploring Imaginary Shifts in QFT: A Necessary Tool for Convergence?

In summary: It works for any propagator, not just the Feynman propagator. You can think of it as analogous to the analytic continuation of functions in complex analysis.In summary, the conversation discussed the use of a small imaginary constant in calculations of physical quantities in quantum field theory. The reason for this is to ensure convergence of expressions, and it is mathematically justified by the causality aspects of the Fourier transform and Hilbert pairs. This method is explained in detail in the book by Hans de Vries and also in the book by Srednicki. It is essentially a mathematical trick that selects the vacuum as the initial and final state.
haushofer
Science Advisor
Insights Author
Hi, I'm studying QFT (quantum field theory) again, with the help of Peskin&Schroeder. Altough the book is much better to read for a second time, there are some things that keep me wondering.

It's about shifting physical quantities by a small imaginary constant in order to be sure that expressions converge. For instance, in the Feynman propagator on page 31:

[itex]
D_{F}(x-y) = int \frac{d^{4}p}{(2\pi)^{4}} \frac{i}{p^{2}-m^{2} + i \epsilon} e^{-ip\cdot(x-y)}
[/itex]

What is the exact reason that we are allowed to shift the energy by a small imaginary constant? Isn't contradicting this the idea that physical measurable quantities should always be real? I understand that we hit a pole if we don't, but to me this whole business looks ill-defined.

A second time this comes by is that the time T in the integral of the vertices is taken to be

[tex]
T \rightarrow \infty (1-i\epsilon)
[/tex]

for instance on page 95. P&S call this an integration along a contour which is slightly rotated away from the real [itex]p^{0}[/itex] just like in calculating the Feynman propagator; again, we are talking imaginary energies here!