Exploring Gyroscope Behavior: Tips and Ideas for Experiments

In summary, Horatio suggests that you use a bicycle wheel and string to investigate precession, and that you can also investigate nutation using the bicycle wheel. He also suggests that you look for a comphensive explanation on how gyroscopes work if you need more help.
starlet
I need to do experiments to investigate the behaviour of gyroscopes but I'm not too sure what I can do.I've thought I can use a bicycle wheel and string to demonstrate precession, but I need experiments which I can take recordings down from.

Thanks for any help!

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello Starlet,
This is my first time posting, so forgive me if I sound a little inexperienced. Ok, here we go...

The angular speed of precession can be found from the equation: speed = (wr)/(I* \omega) where r is the distance of the wheel from the pivot, w is the weight of the wheel, I is the moment of inertia of the wheel about the axis, and \omega is the angular speed of the wheel.

The bicycle wheel mounted on an axle connected to a free pivot should be sufficient to investigate the behaviour of gyroscopes

The dependent variable, the angular speed of the gyroscope's precession can be found simply by timing the period of one revolution of the gyroscope system.

From the equation, there are several independent variables which one can consider, which I will leave to you to consider yourself.

Regards,
Horatio

Ahhhh, I see. I'll have a look in my textbooks about this equation. We haven't done this yet. I'll have a good read about it then and on the internet too. I'll more than likely be back again within the next few days asking more questions about it...so watch out!

Thanks a lot for your help!

Forgive me for being so slow on such a probably simple topic, but what is the difference between the angular speed of the wheel and the angular speed of precession? I'm not too sure how to find the angular speed of the wheel.