Exploring Antimatter Particles: Can They Be Used as Weapons?

In summary: Antiparticles would have to come into contact with air at very close range in order to do any damage.
Xtensity
I'm no expert in particle physics, I only know some of the basics, though I do plan on going into this field for a PhD in the future, which will probably take another year before I begin it...

Would a beam of antimatter particles, either made up of only 1 type of particle, or a mix of particles, explode instantly the second they were created?

Like if there was a way to use use antiparticles as weapons, would it even be possible except in like a bomb form? If antiparticles instantly release a ton of energy when coming in contact with the respective normal particle, would a beam, or a gun that shoots such a beam, blow up instantly upon firing?

I can understand about making a bomb if we could somehow utilize them in a large enough amount... but what about beams? I know this is basically Science Fiction at the moment, but theoretically what are the issues with such a device? I'm just posting this because I'm curious on how they would behave in the above described manner.

Post any potential theoretical models you might have in mind also, I am very curious about these things because they are interesting to think about, since sometime in the future it may be possible.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Unlike antiparticles, air is regular matter. A beam would not go very far. Actually, a beam of regular matter doesn't go very far either, whether it is a cathode ray, the helium that would come out of a pierced balloon, or the exhaust gas of a car. If you want the least amount of range, you need vacuum.