Explore the Holographic Universe Theory

In summary, the author is saying that it might be depressing that we don't actually know what is going on in the universe, and that the movie presented in the article is not accurate.
ObHassell
Alright, well I'm new to this, so don't yell at me for not being very good.

So I was reading about the Holographic Universe Theory and is it me or is it very depressing? I mean really...if that is the truth and the world is fake and imaginary, why would you ever actually want to tell everyone about it? I was just reading about it and watching a short introductory movie on it and i started to feel depressed!

I understand that the point of science is to find the truth and that although we may not like what the truth is sometimes, but in the end, if that is the truth, is it really worth telling everyone that the universe and everything and everyone you know and have ever met isn't real? It's terrible if you think about it, if it were a widely accepted theory, there probably would have been a lot of suicides because of it... Really... in this instance... ignorance is bliss.

Space news on Phys.org
ObHassell said:
So I was reading about the Holographic Universe Theory and is it me or is it very depressing? I mean really...if that is the truth and the world is fake and imaginary, why would you ever actually want to tell everyone about it? I was just reading about it and watching a short introductory movie on it and i started to feel depressed!
Well I don't know what you've been reading, but as I see it the Holographic Universe Theory could refer to two things, neither of which are claiming that the universe is some sort of Holodeck, as you seem to think.

1: (Proper Science) The principle that the description of a volume of space should be thought of as encoded on a boundary to the region. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holographic_Universe