Explanation of capacitance formula

In summary, π appears as a constant in capacitance equations due to the way units are written. Gaussian units use 4 pi, while similar unit systems use 8.85*10^-12.
Niaboc67
Hello, I am new to electronics and am having trouble understanding this formula for capacitance:

7cgnZPY.png

Could someone please break this down into layman terms? Interestingly π appears? I'd like to understand why that exists in capacitance.

Thank you all in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
Actually, that equation you got is very strange... 8.85*10^-12 looks like the value for vacuum permittivity (in F/m) in SI units, but I think that 4pi is wrong. Where did you get that equation?

Thank you for the replies thus far. I got the image from this video at 1:05:
I was wondering how I could make a capacitor from scratch. I am only up to pre-calculus so not entirely well-versed in mathematical reasoning yet.

Yes, I think he mixed up his units..

Basically..

##C = ε * \frac{A}{d}##

where ε is a constant. The form of the constant depends on the unit system used.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitance

In CGS units the equation has the form:[2]
2884456a177ca663f706bb41c56182a1.png
He seems to have used the SI value for ε0

Niaboc67 said:
Hello, I am new to electronics and am having trouble understanding this formula for capacitance:

7cgnZPY.png

Could someone please break this down into layman terms? Interestingly π appears? I'd like to understand why that exists in capacitance.

Thank you all in advance!