Expert System Thesis: International Student at a Canadian University

In summary, an international student is studying computer science at a Canadian university but is interested in doing her thesis in expert systems. He recommends reading journals in the field, talking with his advisor, and looking at the work of his professor to figure out a problem to work on.
Memo-canada
Hello All ,

I'm an international student , studying at a Canadian university .
I'm doing my Master's degree in computer science which was not my major in my country .
My major was education and computer . I've studied 42% computer and the rest was education .
However , I'm wiling to do my degree in Expert system and problem solving . until now , I could not find any problem to be my thesis .
If anyone of you could suggest a problem that is good for an expert system , it will help me a lot .

Thank you ..

Physics news on Phys.org
Memo-canada said:
However , I'm wiling to do my degree in Expert system and problem solving . until now , I could not find any problem to be my thesis.
If you don't care either way, look at what the professors at your university are working at and pick a topic related to their work.

What's your domain of interest? Do you want to research expert systems with an education bent (grammar/translation/linguistic stuff), a financial services bent, management bent, etc?

It's probably a much better idea to talk this over with your supervisor rather than getting a thesis topic from some random people online.

The first key to figuring out a good topic is to read a lot. Figure out what the important journals are in "expert systems" and give them a thorough review. See what's being published in the field to get a sense of what problems people are working on. Talk with your advisor to see which problems he or she expects to be solved in the near future and which are worth working on.

My professor is asking me to find one which has to be a real .
that is driving me crazy ..