Experienced Physicist Looking to construct Particleaccelerator

• Thread starter Supersoviet
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physicist
In summary, an 8th grader is looking to construct a small-scale particle accelerator for his science fair. He is seeking the help of professionals, and has researched various options. He is considering using a Van De Graff generator, but is concerned about the power he would be able to generate. He is also worried about the safety risks involved in building the accelerator. If you are an 8th grader, I would strongly discourage you from working on this project. The risks are too high and you don't have the experience or maturity to deal with them.
Supersoviet
Hello,
I am an aspiring physicist looking to construct a functioning small-scale particleaccelerator for my 8th grade science fair. I am aware of the complexity of this endeavor and have multiple means of completing it at my disposal, including some very generous parents.
My interest and credibility in the field of particle and nuclear physics has spawned from my completion of a Inertial Electrostatic Containment fusion device (a fusor) for my 7th grade science fair.
Unfortunately, I am still inexperienced with many aspects of particle acceleration and so I am here seeking the aid of professionals.
I first planned to construct a cyclotron, as I have a high-voltage power source (15 keV) and would prefer a somewhat high yield from the device. However, I am now leaning to constructing a linear accelerator, due to its ease of construction (but I am skeptical of how much juice I would be able to get out of it.)
Could I use a Van De Graff generator to power a simple tubular Linac?
I have done extensive research in past months and would like to complete this project by February, 2011.
I am looking forward to hearing from my fellow physicists for instruction, tips or even criticism.

Physics news on Phys.org
You are not an experienced physicist - you are an 8th grader.