Expansion Volume of n-Pentane as Working Fluid & Carnot Efficiency

In summary, there are various factors that can affect the volume expansion of n-pentane vaporization, and the Carnot efficiency can be calculated based on the temperature difference. Safety precautions should also be taken into consideration when using n-pentane as a working fluid.
lwright
Greetings Engineers & Scientists. This is my first post. I'm an accountant so excuse my ignorance. See diagram attached. I want to calculate how much volume expansion there would be if we vapourised n-pentane. I did this experiment with air (on a smaller scale) but there was not much expansion - maybe 30%. I was hoping I might do better with a phase change working fluid such as n-Pentane. The temperature delta would be say 25c to 70c. Also I'd like to know if the carnot efficiency of this arrangement could be worked out.

Are there any problems with this type of arrangement? I assume that n-Pentane will be lighter than water & will not mix.

Cheers,
Lee.

Attachments

• untitled.GIF
    untitled.GIF
    15.4 KB · Views: 479
Science news on Phys.org
The volume expansion of the vaporization of n-pentane depends on the initial and final conditions. The initial temperature and pressure as well as the final temperature and pressure will determine the amount of volume expansion that occurs. However, I would expect that a 25°C to 70°C temperature difference should result in a significant volume expansion.

The Carnot efficiency for this arrangement is equal to the temperature ratio between the hot and cold reservoirs divided by the absolute temperature of the hot reservoir. Therefore, if you know the temperatures of the hot and cold reservoirs, you can calculate the Carnot efficiency.