Exact Sequences: Intuition & Theory

In summary, the conversation discusses the importance of exact sequences in homology theory and their role in measuring defects or obstructions in spaces. The snake lemma and Mayer Vietoris sequence are used to derive long exact sequences of homology groups, which allow for the computation of homology in more complex spaces. The concept of exact sequences is essentially the statement of the rank-nullity theorem, applied to compositions of maps. The Mayer Vietoris sequence uses the inclusion-exclusion principle to account for defects in overlapping spaces, while the snake lemma takes into account boundaries of higher-dimensional holes. This understanding can be applied to compute the homology of more complex spaces.
StatusX
Homework Helper
This is a very vague question, but I'd like to know whatever insights anyone could offer about exact sequences. What do they represent? Why are they so important? I'm studying homology right now, and exact sequences are central to the theory, but I've never seen them before. What is the intuition behind the different lemmas (snake, five, etc), or are they just abstract diagram chasing with no easy interpretation?

Physics news on Phys.org
The point about homology is that it measures defects, or obstructions.

So suppose that I have a map of vector spaces, f:V-->W. What is the obstruction that prevents that being an isomorphism? Well, there is the kernel of f, stopping it being injective and the cokernel of f stopping it being surjective. What that means is that we can complete

V-->W

to an exact sequence

0-->ker(f)-->V-->W-->coker(f)-->0

Anyhow. getting back to things at hand.

Things in homology are about measuring defects. Snake lemmas, etc, tell you how those defects are related.

It is just linear algebra, essentially - if something is not injective it has a kernel, etc.