Even & Odd Functions: Determining Which Type of Function It Is

In summary: However, there are plenty of Taylor series that mix even and odd terms, and the function they produce will not be even or odd, in general.I'm not sure what you are asking. The Taylor series for cos(x) is not an even function. It is still a cosine function, which is even. The series does not have to include only even powers of x for the cosine to still be an even function.
duckless

Homework Statement

Hey guys,
I'm studying for my sigs and coms exam and I am having trouble with determining whether a function is even or odd.
I understand that an even function satisfies f(-t) = f(t) and an odd function satisfies f(-t) = -f(t) Can I determine whether this function is even or odd by looking at it?

Homework Equations

{=integral

{ xsin(ax) dx

The Attempt at a Solution

I know I substitute x with -x but what do I do from there?

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe I'm not reading your question right, but you said that you understand that a function is even when f(-t) = f(t), and odd when f(-t) = -f(t).

If you have a graph of it, you should be able to tell whether the function is odd or even just by looking at the graph and taking t and -t. If all you're given is an equation, then choose a value that you can easily evaluate and see what happens on the other side of the axis.

Or are you referring to the equation on #2?

[tex]f(x) = \int xsin(ax)[/tex]

I think that's what you meant on #2 anyway.

duckless said:
I know I substitute x with -x but what do I do from there?

You try to either eliminate the "-" signs, or try to bring them outside the expression.

Example #1:

f(x) = x2
so
f(-x) = (-x)2
= x2 (eliminating the "-")​
= f(x)​
so this is an even function

Example #2:

f(x) = x3
so
f(-x) = (-x)3
= -(x3) (bringing the "-" outside the expression)​
= -f(x)​
so this is an odd function

p.s. Welcome to PF :smile: