Equations of motion for a dual mass-spring-damper

In summary, the conversation discusses deriving equations of motion from a mass-spring-damper diagram and concerns about the correctness of the expressions and signs. The participant also mentions drawing free-body diagrams and setting up equations using the net force. There is also a request to reconsider the extension of the rightmost spring and the direction of the force from the rightmost damper.
invariant99

Homework Statement

We have been given the following mass-spring-damper diagram, and are asked to derive the equations of motion. The positions of the two masses are given as q1 and q2.

upload_2018-10-11_19-6-27.png

The Attempt at a Solution

I began by drawing free-body diagrams for each mass.

upload_2018-10-11_19-8-17.png

Then I set up the equations using F_net = mq'' = sum of the forces acting on the mass.

upload_2018-10-11_19-9-15.png

How does that look? I'm not very experienced at these, and I'm concerned that I've written some of the expressions incorrectly, and that I have some of the signs wrong as well. Thank you.

Attachments

• upload_2018-10-11_19-6-27.png
    upload_2018-10-11_19-6-27.png
    7.2 KB · Views: 652
  • upload_2018-10-11_19-8-12.png
    upload_2018-10-11_19-8-12.png
    7.2 KB · Views: 300
  • upload_2018-10-11_19-8-17.png
    upload_2018-10-11_19-8-17.png
    1.1 KB · Views: 253
  • upload_2018-10-11_19-9-15.png
    upload_2018-10-11_19-9-15.png
    1.5 KB · Views: 266
Physics news on Phys.org
Think again about the extension of the rightmost spring, and the direction of the force from the rightmost damper.

Related to Equations of motion for a dual mass-spring-damper

1. What is a dual mass-spring-damper system?

A dual mass-spring-damper system is a mechanical system that consists of two masses connected by springs and dampers. It is used to model the movement of two connected objects, such as a car suspension or a two-pendulum system.