ENTHALPY ? Concept Undestanding help

In summary, the conversation is about the concept of enthalpy and its relationship with heats of reactions at constant pressure, volume, and temperature, as well as work. The speaker is seeking clarification and conceptual understanding of these relationships, as they have encountered practice questions that involve work. The conversation also includes equations related to enthalpy and a question about familiar relationships involving work.
kirsten_2009
ENTHALPY ? Concept Undestanding help

Homework Statement

Hello, I am studying about enthalpy and I don't need any homework help but what I do desperately need is someone to explain to me how it works. I don't understand what enthalpy is and what the relationship is between heats of reactions at constant pressure, volume and temperature and work. As far as I know enthalpy is heat of a reaction under constant pressure and that no work is done under constant volume...but then I see practice questions in the textbook such as:

1. A 1.00g sample of Ne (g) at 1 atm pressure and 27 degrees Celsius is allowed to expand into an evacuated vessel of 2.50 L volume. Does the gas do work? Explain.

2. In each of the following processes, is any work done when the reaction is carried out at constant pressure in a vessel open to the atmosphere? If so, is work done by the reacting system or on it?

a.) Neutralization of Ba(OH)2 by HCl
b.) Conversion of gaseous nitrogen dioxide to gaseous dinitrogen tetroxide
c.) Decomposition of calcium carbonate to calcium oxide and carbon dioxode gas.

3. The internal energy of a fixed quantity of an ideal gas depends only on it's temperature. A sample of an ideal gas is allowed to expand at a constant temperature...

a.) Does the gas do work?
b.) What happens to the temperature of the gas?
c.) Does the gas exchange heat with it's surroundings?
d.) What is the change in internal energy (DeltaU) for the gas?

Homework Equations

DeltaH = DeltaU + P x DeltaV