Engineering related publication

In summary, the conversation discussed a mechanical engineering student's project idea and the process of publishing it in a journal. The student was seeking guidance on where to start and possible topics. It was emphasized that the project should focus on solving a problem and then be submitted for publication. The professor will provide recommendations closer to the publishing stage. Conferences may also be a step before a peer-reviewed publication.
NicolasPan
Hello everyone,I am a mechanical engineering student and yesterday I convinced my professor to work on a project where it will be published in a journal about one year from now.I really don't know where to start as there are countless of highy-respected researches at top universities such as ETH,Stanford etc.I would really appreciate it if someone could guide me, and maybe if possible to write down some possible topics .Thanks in advance!

Likes mechpeac
Physics news on Phys.org
This is a discussion to have with the professor.

You don't start by saying "I'm going to publish a paper." You start with a problem. You work on it. And if you find something novel that others in the scientific or engineering community would find interesting, then your write it up and submit it for publication.

Likes billy_joule and Timo
Your professor will be able to recommend once you get closer to the point of publishing. A lot of time you present at some conferences before a peer reviewed major publication.

Related to Engineering related publication

1. What is the purpose of an engineering related publication?

An engineering related publication serves as a means of sharing new research, findings, and developments in the field of engineering. It allows for the dissemination of knowledge and promotes further advancements in the field.

2. How do you determine which engineering publications are reputable?