Engineering Physics: Pursuing a Master's/PhD Without ABET Accreditation?

In summary, if you go on to grad school after completing an EP program that is not ABET accredited, you may still be able to get a PE license. However, you may need to get a masters or PhD to have the best chance of being able to do so.
DR13
I will be a freshman in college next year and want to major in engineering physics. The problem is that the program is not ABET accredited. I know that to get a PE liscense one needs to get a degree at an ABET accredited program. However, I plan on going on to grad school. Will the lack of a PE liscense hinder my job outlook if I have a masters or PhD? Or, can I get a PE liscense if I go on to grad school even if the EP program is not ABET accedited?

Thanks all

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm also interested in the answer to this question. My undergrad degree will be in "physics- applied physics track." If I decide to go into an EE grad program, can I still get the same certifications as somebody with an engineering undergrad?

Both of you need to call up your state licensing boards. Some places let you take your your exams anyway they just require you to have more years of experience working under a PE, something like straight out of school vs. 4 years before taking the FE exam and 4 yrs. vs. 12 for the PE exam.

Will the lack of a PE liscense hinder my job outlook if I have a masters or PhD?
It's totally different ballgames. If you want to eventually sign off on big construction projects, you need the PE license. It's a legal requirement and has to do with all sorts of city/government codes and no masters/PhD can substitute. On the flip side, if you want to work in an industry that's not construction related, you may not need a PE. A masters is probably sufficient, a PhD is overkill if you're not planning to work in industrial research.

can I get a PE liscense if I go on to grad school even if the EP program is not ABET accedited?