Electronics engineering or material science engineering?

In summary, the conversation discusses the decision between choosing a diploma programme in EE or MSE. The person is interested in physics and wants a job that is both charismatic and interesting. The speaker shares their experience in EE not being boring, but acknowledges that it is a personal decision and suggests consulting with professionals for more information.
miray dicle
Hello everyone,
I'm a sophomore student and I'm a bit confused about deciding my diploma programme. I'm really interested in physics and I don't want to work on a study field which is just full of mechanical things. EE sounds cool because of it's being hard and there are only a few people who are able to handle it, but it might also be boring and people say that it's more suitable for men. MSE sounds more theoretical to me. But generally people don't know much about it, they're not even aware of such an engineering field exists. I know I should not mind what other people say too much(like biases and stereotypes). I want to have a charismatic and an interesting job at the same time. What would you suggest me to choose?

Physics news on Phys.org
I cannot speak materials science or mechanical engineering but I can tell you that my career in EE was certainly not boring. Of course, I had the great good fortune to be in the right place at the right time and spend the first 16 years of that career at NASA, but jobs after that, although less interesting than NASA, were certainly not boring.

It's really a very personal decision though. You need to learn more about each profession and see how they strike you. The fact that *I* never found EE boring is not really relevant to YOU. Anecdotal information garnered from web forums is not likely to be all that helpful. Consult professionals in person if you can [but don't try for an "interview" here on PF since they are not allowed]

Related to Electronics engineering or material science engineering?