Electronics - Determine voltage across current source

In summary, to determine the voltage across the 2A current source, one must use Kirchhoff's Current Law (KCL) and Kirchhoff's Voltage Law (KVL), as well as Ohm's Law. Additionally, one must understand that an ideal current source can produce any amount of voltage required to maintain its specified current, and an ideal voltage source can produce any amount of current required to maintain its specified potential difference. Using KCL and KVL, one can determine the total potential across the branch with the current source, and subtracting the voltage drop across the 10 ohm resistor, the voltage produced by the current source can be found. It is important to note that the polarity of the drop across the 10
turpy

Homework Statement

Determine the voltage across the 2A current source
2m6lq37.png

Homework Equations

kirchhoff voltage law (kvl)
kirchhoff current law (kcl)
ohm's law

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm new to the concept of a current source. I'm not sure how there can be voltage drop across the current source, so maybe the question is asking for the voltage drop across the 10 ohm resistor that's in series with it?
Are all resistors that are parallel with the power source going to have a voltage drop equal to the source voltage? So the voltage across the 5 ohm resistor and the current source is 50V? I doubt the answer could be that simple though
I think I'm really missing something to understand how to do this question.

If I need to do KCL, it would have to be at the first junction the 2A flows into right?
and for KVL, it would be the loop with the 50V power source? Having both equations is leading me nowhere

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
An ideal current source will produce ANY amount of voltage required to maintain its specified current. So never open circuit an ideal current source :eek: