Electrical Potential Difference between parallel plates

In summary, the electric potential difference between two parallel plates is 3.50x10^3 V. If a single electron increases its electric potential by moving a distance of 0.100 m, the electron had to move toward the:A. positive plate through a potential difference of 1.40x10^3 VB. positive plate through a potential difference of 3.50x10^3 VC. negative plate through a potential difference of 1.40x10^3 VD. negative plate through a potential difference of 3.50x10^3 V
flak-spammer
Alright before I ask the question I'm going to be pretty blunt, I'm not very good at physics at all. I have a great interest and desire to learn physics but it just isn't very easy for me so explanations are going to have to be pretty detailed and even then I still might not get them.

Homework Statement

The electrical potential differences between two parallel plates is 3.50x10^3 V. If a single electron increases its electric potential by moving a distance of 0.100 m, the electron had to move toward the:
A. positive plate through a potential difference of 1.40x10^3 V
B. positive plate through a potential difference of 3.50x10^3 V
C. negative plate through a potential difference of 1.40x10^3 V
D. negative plate through a potential difference of 3.50x10^3 V

Homework Equations

W=F(d)

The Attempt at a Solution

I have no idea where to start as I don't know how to relate the potential difference to a single charge.

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you see whether it moved toward the positive or negative plate?

I would assume that because it was a positive charge that it would move towards the negative plate since opposites attract.
Edit: Oops obviously I was feeling dyslexic I meant because it was a negative charge it would go to the positive plate.

Last edited:
flak-spammer said:
I would assume that because it was a positive charge that it would move towards the negative plate since opposites attract.