Electrical Engineering: Transformer Question for Power Shower

• Thread starter Sawyer888
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Transformer
In summary, the current at the secondary of the transformer is ~10 times the current in the primary. This means that any resistance on the secondary gets transformed or multiplied by that factor squared to the primary. This can cause a voltage drop and hence current drop on the primary.
Sawyer888
Hi, I'm an apprentice multiskilled engineer, thought I prefer electrical engineering

anywho, my power shower at home stopped working and upon testing there was no ouput from the transformer, 230v/24v DC and it got me thinking, I'm aware of the step up/down voltage theory etc and the windings etc.

If the the voltage is stepped down roughly ten times doesn't that in theory mean the current is stepped up ten times, but surely this can't be the case for a little electric motor in a power shower would be blown to bits if the current was ramped that high

Could someone explain to me what's happening here?

cheers

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
The current at the secondary of the transformer is ~10 times the current in the primary. This means that any resistance on the secondary gets transformed or multiplied by that factor squared to the primary.

So if your motor has a resistance of 24 ohms and draws one amp, that load will be transformed to ~2400 ohms at the primary. The current into the primary will be only about 0.1 amp.

The amount of current used is determined by the voltage divided by the resistance. Having a high current available doesn't mean it will all be used by the load.

skeptic2 said:
The current at the secondary of the transformer is ~10 times the current in the primary. This means that any resistance on the secondary gets transformed or multiplied by that factor squared to the primary.