Electric Field of a Continuous Charge Distribution

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the electric field above a center of a square loop with uniform line charge. The result of Ex. 2.1 from Griffiths is used as a hint, and the conversation goes on to clarify the use of z in the formula and the dependence on x and y. The correct formula is given and the conversation ends with a discussion on the use of cos(theta) and the significance of x and y in the formula.
Tsunoyukami
I'm very sorry for the initial post - I was having trouble working with LaTex (I've never used it before and the preview post wasn't showing me what I had expected it to look like - it kept giving me a square root symbol for every code).

Find the electric field a distance z above the centre of a square loop (side a) carrying uniform line charge [tex]\lambda[/tex]. (Hint: Use the result of Ex. 2.1.). [Griffths pg. 64]

Ex. 2.1 asks us to "find the electric field a distance z above the midpoint of a straight line segment of length 2L which carries a uniform line charge [tex]\lambda[/tex]." [Griffiths pg. 62]

The result of Ex 2.1 is:

[tex]\vec{E} = \frac{1}{4 \pi \epsilon_o} \frac{2L \lambda}{z} \frac{1}{\sqrt {z^{2} + L^{2}} }[/tex]

In Problem 2.4, however we have four uniform lines of charge of length a arranged such that they form a square. Supposing that the square is centred at (0, 0, 0) such that it is bounded by the lines x = -a/2, x = a/2, y= -a/2, y= a/2 (and using "the usual" orientation of the x, y and z- axis), by symmetry, the x- and y- components of the electric field at any point z along the z-axis. Therefore there exists only a z-component to the electric field.

However, in Ex. 2.1. the value of "z" is the distance from the point to the line of charge and so must be replaced by [tex]\sqrt{z^{2} + (\frac{a}{2})^{2}[/tex]. Is this correct?