Electric cars -- Does periodic coasting help efficiency?

In summary, the conversation discusses the idea of implementing a pulsed system in cars to save energy and improve efficiency. The speaker suggests that by providing power in intervals, the car could rely on inertia and save energy. However, another speaker argues that this may not be as efficient as simply reducing voltage. Ultimately, it is concluded that while there may be some benefits to this system, the trade-off in speed and efficiency may not be worth it.
Domenico94
Hi. I'm a student of electrical engineering, and I've always been interested in the idea of electrical cars, so I came up with a question: let's suppose we want to have a normal trip with car, and then we're not interested in going so fast with it. When we are driving in this condition, it isn't always necessary to be always powered by the engine, at a given point, the car will keep moving because of inertia,and after that while, it will start decelerating, and losing speed. A similar thing happens in a bicycle, we don't need to always pedal, especially in a street with no climbs, because the bike as well would move for inertia for a while, and then it will start losing speed.
So my point is: why can't we implement a similar system in cars, so that they will not have to generate current continously to produce energy, but they could rely on inertia as well? This I think could be achieved with a circuit that gives a pulse at given time interval, or example one every 3 seconds. When there's no pulse, the circuit will rest, and will save energy, thus providing a longer autonomy of cars.
If we do need full power from car, we can make a circuit in which the timer is disabled, and the car engine will receive full power.

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org