Welcome to our community

Be a part of something great, join today!

Einstein Notation - out of fashion?

Kiwi

Feb 7, 2012
Melbourne, Australia
I am studying Pavel Grinfeld's text "Introduction to tensor analysis and the calculus of moving surfaces" along with his you-tube lecture series on the same topic. I highly recommend both!

1.) Am I correct to understand that the Einstein tensor notation used throughout the book is out of fashion and doesn't get used anymore? I don't see any of it on mathhelpboards.

Here is the Riemann Christoffel tensor in Einstein notation:
\(\nabla_i \nabla_j T^k - \nabla_j \nabla_j T^k = R^k_{mij}T^m \) where \(R^k_{mij}= \frac{\partial \Gamma^k_{jm}}{\partial Z^i}-\frac{\partial \Gamma^k_{im}}{\partial Z^j}+\Gamma^k_{in} \Gamma^n_{jm} - \Gamma^k_{jn} \Gamma^n_{im} \)

2.) Now it is obvious to me that this is valid in a space of any dimension. Is the same true for modern notation without any special thought or is it necessary in each dimension to come up with a new definition for the symbols in each space?

3.) As a simpler example in the tensor notation it is not necessary to define the cross product. What we know as the cross product in 3 dimensions can easily be expressed in Tensor notation and then extended to any dimension without much thought. Can the same be said of the modern notation?

4.) Is there a name for the modern notation?

Cheers

Dave

Klaas van Aarsen

MHB Seeker
Staff member
Mar 5, 2012
Leiden
Hi Dave,

What is this modern notation that you speak of?
I am not aware of Einstein's notation conventions as being out of fashion. Quite the opposite.
A quick search does not reveal anything either.
I found a copy of the book you mentioned. It has copyright 2013.
That looks like quite a nice book btw.
It seems to just build up to Einstein's conventions as expected with no mention of it being out of fashion, nor can I find any mention of a new modern notation.

What am I missing?

Kiwi

Feb 7, 2012
Melbourne, Australia