Effect of aqua regia on P, S, C and Si?

• Thread starter allistair
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Si
In summary, the sample contains P, S, C and Si (+4 metals). Aqua regia may have no effect on the P, S, C or Si that are also in the sample, but the non-metallic compounds will be analyzed by different methods.
allistair
I've got a sample containing 8 substances: P, S, C and Si (+4 metals) which i need to analyse. I was planning on using aqua regia to dissolve the metals, remove the 4 substances that aren't metals (and deal with them later ^^) and then use atomic absorbtion spectroscopy to measure the metals' levels but I was wondering if the royal water would have any effect on any of the P, S, C or Si that are also in the sample?

At first glance I would say it would have no effect, but I've never worked with agua regia before and it seems to be a rather peculiar mixture :). Anyone have any experience with this?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
allistair said:
I was wondering if the royal water would have any effect on any of the P, S, C or Si that are also in the sample?

In what form are these? Are you actually given red/white/black phosphorus? Is it a phosphate? Is it part of something organic?
Is this part of a powder, or is the sample a solution with sediment on the bottom?

The OP's sample may just be an alloy. AAS will give you concentrations for non-metallic components too.

The sample is a powder and the P, S, Si and C are present in their 'elemental form' (not sure about the english word... but I mean that they're not bonded with another element).

I also have some rough amounts btw:

Si: 0 < x < 1g
S: 0 < x < 0.1g
P: 0 < x < 0.1g
Mn: 0 < x < 1g
Ni: 0 < x < 0.1g
Cr: 0 < x < 1g
Cu: 0 < x < 1g
C: 1-2% of total sample

But i should be able to detect the non-metallic compounds as well? I thought this technique only worked for metals in solution. I was assuming the non-metallic compounds wouldn't dissolve either.

Last edited: