EE major and CS minor, or vice versa

In summary: Assistant Vice PresidentIn summary, the person is considering switching from a Computer Science major to an Electrical Engineering major with a minor in Computer Science. They are interested in computer control and embedded systems as well as scientific computing and working for an aerospace company. They are unsure about which degree would be more in demand and are considering taking some electives in computer engineering. Both an EE major with a minor in CS and a Computer Engineering major are suggested as good options based on the person's interests.
Accipiter
Hello all--

I am in my first semester in Computer Science (4yr. degree), but I'm thinking of swapping to Electrical Engineering and minoring in Computer Science instead. Or, I could stay in CS and minor in EE. My question is, which option do you all think would be most beneficial in the long run?

I'm leaning towards EE major because the way I see it is that EE guys, with CS minor, can do EE jobs and CS jobs, but CS majors, with EE minor, could only do CS jobs. I could be wrong though...

I like programming, but I also like electronics. I'm interested in computer control and embedded systems, but I'm also interested in scientific computing. I think it would be neat to work for some kind of aerospace company. It would also be neat to program microcontrollers or do physics-and-math-heavy programming or work with navigation and communications.

Then, there's the problem of which degree is more in demand; I'm guessing CS, but I'm not sure I want to program 8 hrs a day.

Thanks,
Accipiter

Physics news on Phys.org