Easy way to figure out what material to use in a project?

In summary, the individual is a university student who is struggling to find an easy way to select materials for engineering projects, as it is not something that is typically taught in lectures. They have been manually searching for materials through PDFs and have been looking for a dictionary-sized compilation of both standard and patented materials with engineering and physical properties and a user-friendly contents page. They are open to purchasing a hardcopy reference manual or using a computer program to search a database for materials based on properties. Some potential resources suggested for materials selection include the Ashby Chart, Engineers Handbook, MatWeb, and Granta.
Download
I'm only a uni student at the moment and this feels more like something you learn from experience than something taught in a lecture but I'll thought I should ask anyway.

Is there an easy way to select materials for engineering projects? I was hoping to find there is a nice dictionary sized compilation of both standard and patented materials, listing their engineering and physical properties ad who makes the stuff, maybe with an easy to use contents page that helps you track down what you need.

So far I've had to trawl through pdf after pdf blindly looking for the material I need. It's not too bad if it's a common steel like 4130, but I just spent several hours trying to track down something that would fit project I'm working on (completely unrelated to uni) before tentatively settling on Aermet 100. There must be an easier way to do this.

Any tips? I'm not adverse to buying a hardcopy reference manual if it save me time. I figured you guys in the Material's Engineering section would be better to ask than the mechanical.

Cheers

Engineering news on Phys.org
Nidum said: