Draw graph of quadratic function 87x - 700 - x^2

In summary, the conversation is about finding the maximum value of a function P = 87x - 700 -x^2, as well as the coordinates of the stationary point. The person asking for help is struggling with graphing and finding the stationary point, and is reminded to show effort and refer to lecture notes or a textbook for guidance. The function should be transformed into standard form to easily identify the vertex and solve for any roots.
education1983
P = 87x - 700 -x^2

1. Draw a graph of P against x and estimate the maximum value of P and also calculate the coordinates of the stationary point and verify if it is maximum.

I am not very good at graph drawing or stationary points... any help people?

Physics news on Phys.org

education1983 said:
P = 87x - 700 -x^2

1. Draw a graph of P against x and estimate the maximum value of P and also calculate the coordinates of the stationary point and verify if it is maximum.

I am not very good at graph drawing or stationary points... any help people?
You've been told several times that you need to show work or at least a little effort when asking for homework help. We will not do your homework for you.

I found P= 87X - 700 - X^2 after my calculations, I just need a little help on where to go from there??

education1983 said:
I found P= 87X - 700 - X^2 after my calculations, I just need a little help on where to go from there??
You must have lecture notes or a textbook to refer to. How does your notes suggest that one sketch such a function?

You presented a function P, in general form. Check your notes and textbook to learn how to transform your function into standard form. Standard form for a quadratic function allows you to see how your function has changed from P = x^2. Standard form allows you to very easily identify the vertex of the parabola. You then can let P = 0 or
0 = 87x - 700 -x^2 to find any "roots" or "zeros" of the function P.