Doubts about Einstein Field Equations

In summary: The conflict between GR and quantum theories is more a problem with quantum theories that do not yet have good desciption of quantum gravity, than with the Reissner-Nordström metric itself.
petergreat
Why should we trust the Reissner–Nordström solution of charged black holes? It relies on coupling between Einstein tensor and EM stress-energy tensor, which has NO experimental support whatsoever.

Is there any chance we can test this?

Physics news on Phys.org
petergreat said:
It relies on coupling between Einstein tensor and EM stress-energy tensor, which has NO experimental support whatsoever.

Why do you say that? I'm not an expert on experimental tests of GR, but it seems to me that there is quite a bit of experimental evidence on this.

Of course there are classic tests like the deflection of light by the sun and the Pound-Rebka experiment, both of which showed that light interacts gravitationally pretty much as predicted by standard GR.

As an example of an alternative rule for coupling, I could imagine [itex]G_{ab}=c_1T_{ab}+c_2g_{ab}T^c_c[/itex] for the Einstein field equations, but then the equivalence principle would be violated by the second term, which vanishes for EM waves. The equivalence principle has a lot of support from extremely precise experiments.

In general, I think it's quite difficult to come up with alternative forms of the Einstein field equations that are consistent with observational support for mass-energy conservation, momentum conservation, and the equivalence principle.

The early universe was radiation-dominated, so cosmological observations that probe that era should be very direct tests of whether light produces gravitational fields in the way described by GR. Don't modern high-precision CMB measurements probe this in some detail?

Do you know of any currently viable alternative theory of gravity (tensor-scalar theories, etc.) that disagrees with GR on this issue?