Double Sunrise Phenomenon Explanation?

• Thread starter Cmotive98
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Photography
Cmotive98
How did you find PF?: Googling about a double sunrise phenomenon, since I have just photographed and videoed one.

I just want to share some photos, and a video, I personally took sitting in the observation deck of a cruise ship between Cabo, San, Lucas, and Ensenada, Mexico, while out at sea. The date was November 11, 2023 at sunrise. I am a retired nurse. I am not a physics expert and I am not currently a student, but I want to share this in case anyone is interested. By the way, this is not a hoax, I visualized this with my own eyes, as well as through the camera lens of my iPhone. I was, however, sitting on an observation deck of a cruise ship behind the windows. Some of the smaller specs of light are reflections from the lights behind me.

Attachments

• IMG_2032.jpeg
    IMG_2032.jpeg
    39 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG_2029.jpeg
    IMG_2029.jpeg
    42 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_2034.jpeg
    IMG_2034.jpeg
    51.8 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_2033.jpeg
    IMG_2033.jpeg
    47.4 KB · Views: 36
  • Wow
Likes dlgoff
Physics news on Phys.org
Cmotive98 said:
I just want to share some photos, and a video
:welcome:

I can't see a video, but I suspect this is caused by an internal reflection, and you were not looking straight through the window at right angles, rather you were looking to your right.