First post. Hello, my name is Davin. Questions.

• Thread starter Digital_Junkie
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Hello
In summary, the speaker has dropped out of high school and has minimal education, but has been interested in physics since taking a class at 15. They have questions about gravity such as its speed, if it can be blocked or diverted, if it needs a medium to travel, and if it can be a push force. They also question why gravity weakens and the nature of centrifugal and centripetal forces. They propose a perpetual-motion-gravity-electric-generator idea and express an interest in learning more about physics.
Digital_Junkie
I am not a rocket scientist, I have never taken calculus, I do not have a degree of any sort, I have dropped out of high school, I can bearly spell words correctly, and I'm just a young punk kid. But I do have many questions that have been bothering me incessantly since I was 15 and took physics 20. These questions have lead me nowhere because University professors won't return my calls, my high school teachers never seemed to give me a satisfying answer (they just tried to confuse me to avoid saying they didn't know), and the internet hasn't been much help in terms of articles or actually answering my questions. And now I am finally (after a few years) attempting to get real answers. The questions are as follows:

1. Is there a speed of gravity?
This is one of the first questions I asked myself when thinking about gravity. My physics teachers all told me that it was, like everything else, limited to the speed of light. But that just does not sit right with me. Does that mean to say that if the sun just disappeared the planets would continue their orbits for 8 seconds or whatever the time it is for the light to reach the earth? Would this not make space travel increadibly complicated in terms of mathmatics? Wouldn't the sun's gravity be affecting Earth 8 minutes (I'm just assumeing the time) behind it's actual position?